Apple Security Check: How to Lock Your iPhone From Abusive Partners

News
mobtkr5 August 2022Last Update : 2 days ago
Apple Security Check: How to Lock Your iPhone From Abusive Partners

Granting family members the ability to see your location and personal information on your iPhone can be useful under normal circumstances. But if you feel threatened by a partner or other family member who has become abusive or violent, you can take action with Safety Check.

Introduced in iOS 16, this new feature lets you sign out of iCloud on all your devices, revoke access you’ve granted to others, limit messaging to one device, and stop sharing data from iCloud. location. The new mobile OS is slated to launch in mid-September, but you can check it out early by downloading the iOS 16 beta.


Configure security check

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

You can configure security check under Settings > Privacy & Security > Security Control on your iPhone. Press the Learn more link to read Apple’s Personal Security User Guide(Opens in a new window)which explains how to protect yourself and your sensitive data if you feel threatened by someone else.

At any time during this process, you can press the Quick exit link top right. This will immediately take you back to the home screen, if you don’t want anyone to see what you’re doing.

Start emergency reset

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

Press the Emergency reset , then confirm the action via Face ID, Touch ID or PIN. This will stop location sharing and revoke access to all apps. You’ll also be able to change your Apple ID password, review your security settings, and add or remove emergency contacts. Press the Start emergency reset button to continue.

Reset access

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

To revoke information shared with other people and apps, tap Reset people and apps to start the process. Anyone you’ve unshared won’t be notified of your action, but they may notice that the shared information is no longer visible to them. To revoke access from everyone and all apps, tap Reset. To revoke access for specific people and apps only, tap Manage sharing and access.

Remove or add a trusted phone number

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

If you chose to reset access for everyone and all apps, the next screen displays your trusted phone numbers. Press the minus () to remove a number you no longer trust. Faucet Add a trusted phone number to add a number. This number will then receive an SMS with a verification code that you must enter on your current phone. Faucet Continue.

Update Password

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

You are then prompted to update your Apple ID password. You can type Update later in settings if you want to skip this step for now. Otherwise, press the Update Password button. Type and retype your new password, then press the Update Password button.

Remove or add an emergency contact

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

You can then manage your emergency contacts. Press the minus () next to an existing emergency contact to remove that person, or tap Add an emergency contact to add another person. Faucet Continue. You will then be told that the security check is complete. Faucet Do.


Manage access manually

Manage sharing and access

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

Instead of going through the entire security screening process, you can choose to manually remove access to specific people and apps. To do this, on the Safety Check screen, tap Manage sharing and access instead of emergency reset. You can then review the people, apps, and devices that have access to certain information. Faucet Continue.

Manage people and information

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

From the Sharing with people screen, you can see which contacts have access to your information and which services are shared with your contacts. Under the People , you can select the people you no longer want to share your data with. Under the Information select the type of data you no longer wish to share with others.

Press the Opinion sharing to make more changes, then press Continue. The next screen displays the applications capable of accessing certain data. Review the list of apps and select the ones you want to remove. Press the I icon to see all the information a specific app can access. You can then select specific data types to delete.

Manage apps

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

Press the Information and select any information or features that you no longer want to share with apps, such as your location, camera, microphone, or media library. Press the I icon to see all apps that have access to the selected data or features and remove those from the list. When you are done, press Stop application accessthen touch Continue.

Recommended by our editors

Delete selected devices

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

The next screen displays all devices currently signed in with your Apple ID. Select the ones you want to remove from your account. Then press Delete selected devices.

Update Password

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

You can then touch Update Password to change your Apple ID password. Faucet Update later in settings skip this step for now. Next, delete any existing emergency contact and add a new one if desired. Faucet Continue.

Update Password

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

The next screen allows you to update your device password. To continue, enter your existing passcode, then enter a new one. You can also touch Skip if you don’t want to change your password.

Reset Face ID

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

If you have already set up an alternate skin or a second skin on a Face ID enabled iPhone, then you have the option to reset Face ID and remove that second skin. To do this, press Reset Face ID and follow the steps to scan your face.

Review other actions

(Credit: PCMag/Lance Whitney)

The last screen tells you that the security check is complete, but describes other settings and features that may share data or access other people. Review the suggestions on this screen and take any other action you feel is necessary to protect your location, your privacy and yourself.

Apple fan?

Subscribe to our Weekly Apple Brief for the latest news, reviews, tips and more straight to your inbox.

This newsletter may contain advertisements, offers or affiliate links. Subscribing to a newsletter indicates your consent to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. You can unsubscribe from newsletters at any time.

function facebookPixelScript() { if (!facebookPixelLoaded) { facebookPixelLoaded = true; document.removeEventListener('scroll', facebookPixelScript); document.removeEventListener('mousemove', facebookPixelScript);

!function(f,b,e,v,n,t,s){if(f.fbq)return;n=f.fbq=function(){n.callMethod? n.callMethod.apply(n,arguments):n.queue.push(arguments)};if(!f._fbq)f._fbq=n; n.push=n;n.loaded=!0;n.version='2.0';n.queue=[];t=b.createElement(e);t.async=!0; t.src=v;s=b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0];s.parentNode.insertBefore(t,s)}(window, document,'script','//connect.facebook.net/en_US/fbevents.js');

fbq('init', '454758778052139'); fbq('track', "PageView"); } }

Short Link